More than 80 cross-party Members of the European Parliament support the Working Group on Antisemitism.

Chair,  MEP Juan Fernando Lopez Aguilar


Juan Fernando López Aguilar  (born 10 June 1961) is a Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party politician, and former Minister of Justice in the government of José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero. He also represented Las Palmas in the congress between 2000 and 2004.

López Aguilar was born in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. He holds a Ph.D. in Law from the University of Bologna (Italy) and for a long time he was a Professor of Constitutional Law at the University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. He also holds a Master’s Degree in Law and Diplomacy from The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy.

In November 2006, he was chosen as the socialist candidate for the Presidency of the Canary Islands Government.Currently he is a Member of the European Parliament former chair of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs.

 Vice-Chair, MEP Cecilia Wikström


Cecilia Wikström was born in 1965 and raised in Kalix, but has lived  in Uppsala since the 1980’s. She holds a bachelor degree in theology from the University of Uppsala, and has been a practising priest in the Swedish Church since 1994.

Cecilia Wikström has written several books including the book När livet går sönder(When life falls apart), a publication awarded book of the year in its genre in 2004.

In 2002, Cecilia Wikström was elected to the Swedish parliament.   She was re-elected in 2006, representing the liberal party, Folkpartiet Liberalerna.  

Since 2009, Cecilia Wikström is a Member of the European Parliament.

Vice-Chair, MEP Heinz K Becker


Born in 1950. Lower Austria. Professional activity – Advertising / Marketing (1974-2011): Gramm & Grey, Vienna; Österreichische Philips Industrie, Vienna; GKK International, Vienna; Grey Group, Vienna (Agency Head); MediaCom media agency (founder and Chief Executive); BZW Advertising, Vienna (Agency Head); Self-employed: Becker advertising agency, Vienna & Perchtoldsdorf.

Political posts (since 2001): Secretary-General of the Austrian Senior Citizens’ Association; Member of the Executive Committee of the European Senior Citizens’ Union; Member of the executive committee of the Main Association of Austrian Social Insurance Institutions and of the Political Academy. European Parliament (since 2011): Co-chair of the parliamentary Intergroup on Ageing and Intergenerational Solidarity; Member of the European Alzheimer’s Alliance. MEP since 2011.